The Murder at Buskirk’s Bridge, Part 2.

The Murder at Buskirk’s Bridge, Part 2.

The Preliminary Hearing at Salem

Mrs. Anolyn McCarthy Testifies

Due to an error on my part, accidentally switching the pages I was reading from, the previous installment I posted as #2 should come much later on as #13. I am going to re-label that one Part 13 so it will fit in where it should, and this one Part 2. This part tells the story of what happened. Sorry about the mixup. In some scans this paper had been folded or wrinkled and certain words were illegible, I enclosed these in brackets. Ted

The examination was held on Monday last before Justices Wells and Pratt. Col. John S. Crocker appeared in behalf of the people, and John R. Martin on the part of the defendant. The charge was read to the prisoner, to which he pleaded “Not Guilty”.

Mrs. Anolyn McCarthy, being sworn, says: That I am the widow of Patrick McCarthy, deceased; that on the day he was killed Mrs. Williams came to my house and said it would be best for me and all of us to clear out from there, as she was afraid that Mr. Baldwin would take my husband’s life, and her husband’s life; I said my husband is not afraid of Baldwin, for he has done nothing for which he would kill him; she said she had a poor family to provide for, and don’t speak of this, for if you do, likely I may lose my life; I asked her what she thought Baldwin would hurt my husband for; she replied that Baldwin had got railroad men who were going to break down Lansing’s witnesses in that suit, and likely he would do other things; that the railroad men were going to help him with money. This conversation took place about 4 o’clock in the afternoon, no one was present; my husband was at work at Mr. Lansing’s; Mrs. Williams was sober and appeared to be in earnest; Patrick came from Lansing’s between 6 and 7 o’clock; he went to the corn barn to husk corn that evening with Thomas Arnds and Thomas Wallace; he returned with them about 9 o’clock and the two others with him to my house; they stayed there until a few minutes before 10 o’clock; Mrs. Arnds came in before they went away, Mr. and Mrs. Arnds went off together and Mr. Williams staid a few minutes after and also left; it was then about ten o’clock. After they had all left, I and Patrick sat down by the fire. I said, Patrick; Mrs. Williams says you stand in danger here. He said I must be a foolish woman to think he would be killed, for he had committed no crime since he was born; In a few minutes I saw his color change, his face was red and his eyes were white; I asked him if he was sick; he said, no, but that he did not feel very well, and told me to get a cup of coffee; I did so, and was just putting the cup on the table to get the coffee when I heard a rap at the door; The door was locked, I locked it just before; Patrick got up and went to the door, I went to the door with him; He took hold of the door to open it when I said Patrick, don’t, and then asked, Who is that? No reply was made and Patrick opened the door; I stood on the right side of him; one man stepped in and Patrick bid him good evening; He made no answer; I saw a gun; the man who first came in had it; immediately another man stepped in, he had a pistol; I then said Patrick, dear, run; as quick as I spoke the fellow snapped the pistol in my face; but it flashed did not go off, and did not hurt me. I saw a light from the flash, Patrick walked out of the house when the man who came in first turned and shot him in the side; they were on the stoop; the man was hardly the length of the gun off when he shot him; the man who had the pistol turned and went out with the rest; Patrick made his way through the gate along the south side of the house around the corner; before he got through the gate another shot him and when he went through the gate he fell to the ground; I then went into the other room and saw them raise him from the ground, when they shot him again; I then heard him groan and I then halloed murder, on which they fired at me through the window, one shot grazed my cheek and I fell back in a faint; t’was the window where the corpse was, I do not know whether it is south or west, but it was the window in the room where the corn and beans are; I don’t know how long I laid so; not long – when I got up I went straight to where Patrick lay and found he was dead. I then went to Mr. Arnds house and rapped; Mr. Arnds got up and let me in; he asked me what the matter was; I said my husband was shot dead; he called the boy that boards with him, who got up and went to John McCaffrey’s house; McCaffrey’s wife would not let him out; the boy then came back and Thomas Arnds took an axe, and then they went and took him up from where he lay and took him into the house and laid him upon his own bed.

The one who first came in was a tall, slim boy, darkish hair I think, was dressed in a blue striped shirt, no coat, ha had a vest and a cap, a round kind of a cap, he had a gun, a pretty long gun; the man who had the pistol wore the same kind of shirt, vest, and cap; the pantaloons of both looked blue; the last man was not as tall as the other, would reach about to his shoulder; he was not broad but well shaped, had dark complexion, did not notice the color of his hair, had thin whiskers on the side of his face; I think the thin, tall man had whiskers clean round his face; the pistol was not so long but that a man could easily put it in his pocket; when he reached it out at me it did not appear very long; I saw three men but think there were more because they could not have loaded their guns so quick. I should not have recognized the man who stood on the stoop, had he been Mr. [Baldwin?] or anybody else I know; I knew of no difficulty between my husband and Baldwin, except that growing out of the suit with Lansing; I have been three years in America, Patrick has been four. He had no quarrel with anyone in Ireland. I heard a conversation between Mr. Baldwin and Patrick since the first suit with Lansing; Baldwin came to our door and told Patrick that he had given a wrong oath. Patrick said he had not. I begged of Baldwin to go away, for I did not want a noise at my door; he did not appear to be friendly. Mrs. Williams [?] me since I came here this morning if they asked me any such stuff as she told me, to [dy] that she said so. I think the murder was between 10 and 11 O’clock P.M., I staid the rest of the night with Thomas Arnds and his wife, we were afraid and made no fire and lighted no candle; but sat all night [?] the bed. In the morning I first informed Mr. Perry of the murder.

Cross-Examined: Tuesday night was darkish; Baldwin was [no?] of the men I saw to know; I heard [no?] of door speak; I heard no one speak during the whole affair; I don’t think I saw Baldwin that day; It was about 4 o’clock in the afternoon that I had the conversation with Mrs. Williams; she lives next door and visits me often, she was sober.

Direct Resumed: Mrs. Baldwin was at my house that afternoon, she made no business, staid a little while and went off; she is not in the habit of visiting my house; has never been there but once or twice since I lived there; If Baldwin had been the third man I saw upon the stoop that night, I should not have recognized him.

Cross-Examined: Mrs. Baldwin was not in the habit of visiting my house. Patrick looked pale and sick in consequence of what I told him of my conversation with Mrs. Williams; Mrs. Baldwin and I have never had any difficulty.

Leave a Reply

